Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Gtuner IV general support. Operation, questions, updates, feature request.

Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Postby creedkiller » Wed Jun 24, 2020 7:46 pm

Title pretty much says it all. Would be good to have some way of monitoring HID output for keyboard and mouse in the Device Monitor.
creedkiller
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Postby DontAtMe » Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:01 pm

This is already possible using a script.

example.
Code: Select all
#include <keyboard.gph>
#include <mouse.gph>
 
main {
 
set_val(0, key_status(KEY_A));
set_val(1, key_status(KEY_B));
set_val(2, key_status(KEY_C));
set_val(3, key_status(KEY_D));
set_val(4, key_status(KEY_E));
 
.
.
.
 
set_val(5, mouse_status(MOUSE_X));
set_val(6, mouse_status(MOUSE_Y));
set_val(7, mouse_status(MBUTTON_1));
set_val(8, mouse_status(MBUTTON_2));
 
.
.
.
 
}
User avatar
DontAtMe
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:49 am

Re: Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Postby creedkiller » Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:10 pm

DontAtMe wrote:This is already possible using a script.

example.
Code: Select all
#include <keyboard.gph>
#include <mouse.gph>
 
main {
 
set_val(0, key_status(KEY_A));
set_val(1, key_status(KEY_B));
set_val(2, key_status(KEY_C));
set_val(3, key_status(KEY_D));
set_val(4, key_status(KEY_E));
 
.
.
.
 
set_val(5, mouse_status(MOUSE_X));
set_val(6, mouse_status(MOUSE_Y));
set_val(7, mouse_status(MBUTTON_1));
set_val(8, mouse_status(MBUTTON_2));
 
.
.
.
 
}
your script effectively maps keyboard and mouse to gamepad outputs which can be helpful for some uses, but in general it would be much better to be able to monitor both input and output as keyboard and mouse without mapping anything. The same way be now monitor input and output for gamepads on the device monitor it would be good if we could monitor keyboard input and mouse input and if HID output protocol is set then also keyboard and mouse outputs.
creedkiller
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Postby J2Kbr » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:49 pm

creedkiller wrote:Title pretty much says it all. Would be good to have some way of monitoring HID output for keyboard and mouse in the Device Monitor.

This implementation is not currently planned. The workaround, if needed monitor some keyboard or mouse input, is map to a GPC Designator with a Input Translator, or using a script as suggested by DontAtMe, or, also using script, pritnf() to output panel the key press/release events. :smile0517:
ConsoleTuner Support Team
User avatar
J2Kbr
General of the Army
General of the Army
 
Posts: 20323
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: Any plans to add HID Output to Device Monitor?

Postby creedkiller » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:06 pm

J2Kbr wrote:
creedkiller wrote:Title pretty much says it all. Would be good to have some way of monitoring HID output for keyboard and mouse in the Device Monitor.

This implementation is not currently planned. The workaround, if needed monitor some keyboard or mouse input, is map to a GPC Designator with a Input Translator, or using a script as suggested by DontAtMe, or, also using script, pritnf() to output panel the key press/release events. :smile0517:

Thanks J2Kbr.
creedkiller
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:08 pm


Return to Gtuner IV Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 111 guests