Pablo's Beginners Guide to Scripting for PC

Tutorials, How-tos and FAQs for the Titan Two device.

Pablo's Beginners Guide to Scripting for PC

Postby pablosscripts » Mon May 20, 2019 3:59 am

I've just finished working on my first PC script and I thought I might document some of the things I've learned along the way for others to benefit from. This is by no means comprehensive as I'm just a beginner myself but it may be just enough to help you get a jump on the learning curve.

WHY T2?

Macros have been around on PC since the dawn of time, so why the T2? There are two main reasons:

1) Software based scripting is the most common approach, but this won't take you far as it's highly likely you'll be caught by anti-cheating software.

2) Hardware based scripting is generally very simple. If you own a Logitech mouse or keyboard for example, just take a look at the options available - they're extremely primative. You can record button presses and set interval times, but that's pretty much the extent of it. Simple hardware based scripting is also likely to be caught by anti-cheating software. Let's take the example of a rapid fire macro: hold button for X seconds, release button for Y seconds. The X and Y variables are static - anything highly predictable like this will set of all sorts of red flags.

In contrast, Titan Two is hardware based and is also sophisticated enough to support logic that will outsmart any anti-cheat heuristics. In the example above, you could randomise the X and Y values, which you can't do with very simple macros.

BEFORE YOU EVEN START CODING

I have added a template to the Online Resources page for you to download, called "PC Script Template" (https://www.consoletuner.com/greslib/?w675). I will break it down in more detail below:

The first thing you need to do is add the following headers:

Code: Select all
#include <keyboard.gph>
#include <mouse.gph>

And in your init block, add this:

init {
    keymapping();
       mousemapping();
}