Crash course on using the Input Translator

Tutorials, How-tos and FAQs for the Titan Two device.

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby Timbo » Fri May 05, 2017 1:33 pm

J2Kbr wrote:I will be working to get steering wheels working as best as possible natively on the Titan Two.

that's good news

J2Kbr wrote:You can connect up to 4 USB HID devices simultaneously. :joia:


perfect :joia: thanks
User avatar
Timbo
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:46 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby shogun6x » Tue May 16, 2017 11:43 am

I am having trouble getting this to work with MY G13 pad.

I plugged the pad into input B on the T2 and opened device monitor but didnt see any of the input buttons toggle as i was pressing the buttons on the pad.

How do yo set up your controller remapping without knowing what buttons map to what on the pad?

Im sure i am missing some easy step on using the keyboard.gph.
User avatar
shogun6x
First Sergeant
First Sergeant
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:44 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby antithesis » Tue May 16, 2017 1:23 pm

I've just started heading down this path myself, so don't have the best knowledge on the subject yet.

If you're not comfortable coding a script to use keyboard.gph, you can download one of J2K's Input Translators from the GPC Library in Gtuner IV as a starting point.
Official Australian retailer for Titan One, Titan Two and XIM APEX at Mod Squad
User avatar
antithesis
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby shogun6x » Tue May 16, 2017 4:16 pm

It maybe a little self serving but good luck on getting the G13 going!!! I will be awaiting your success.

I started to mess around with one of the translators today but i want having much success. I will keep stumbling my way through it.

My plan is to hook up a key board to T2 and get used to the keyboard.gph that way then transition to the G13.

After that i will rip out the mouse part so i can have the xim do the mouse translations and the T2 run the scripts and keyboard.

It will be a beautiful day when this set up works!!!
User avatar
shogun6x
First Sergeant
First Sergeant
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:44 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby J2Kbr » Wed May 17, 2017 10:01 am

shogun6x wrote:I am having trouble getting this to work with MY G13 pad.I plugged the pad into input B on the T2 and opened device monitor but didnt see any of the input buttons toggle as i was pressing the buttons on the pad.

After plug the G13, the status led for the port lights-up green? or red?
ConsoleTuner Support Team
User avatar
J2Kbr
General of the Army
General of the Army
 
Posts: 18147
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby shogun6x » Thu May 18, 2017 7:26 pm

green, it looks good but there is nothing picked up by the device monitor.
User avatar
shogun6x
First Sergeant
First Sergeant
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:44 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby antithesis » Thu May 18, 2017 10:05 pm

You need to bind G13 keys to controller inputs in the Input Translator (or a script that includes keyboard.gph), then click the Run button in Gtuner IV for them to be detected in Device Monitor.

It's a little confusing at first, but once you nail down how it works, it'll gel quickly.

Question for J2K - does an Input Translator ignore mouse input if that mouse input comes from a Xim4? I want to use the keyboard bindings in Input Translators, but let the Xim handle the mouse stuff without T2 post-processing it.

I guess the way around that is to use keyboard.gph instead, but I want to get an idea of how Xim interacts with Input Translators and if the mouse component can be ignored or disabled for that specific file.
Official Australian retailer for Titan One, Titan Two and XIM APEX at Mod Squad
User avatar
antithesis
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby J2Kbr » Fri May 19, 2017 11:06 am

antithesis wrote:Question for J2K - does an Input Translator ignore mouse input if that mouse input comes from a Xim4? I want to use the keyboard bindings in Input Translators, but let the Xim handle the mouse stuff without T2 post-processing it.

yes, because the mouse inputs are already converted to gamepad inputs by XIM4 so, from the Titan Two perspective, the connected device is an controller and not XIM4 and no mouse translator are applied.
ConsoleTuner Support Team
User avatar
J2Kbr
General of the Army
General of the Army
 
Posts: 18147
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby antithesis » Fri May 19, 2017 2:18 pm

J2Kbr wrote:yes, because the mouse inputs are already converted to gamepad inputs by XIM4 so, from the Titan Two perspective, the connected device is an controller and not XIM4 and no mouse translator are applied.

Clever stuff. I'll have to put that to the test :a1chill_angry1:
Official Australian retailer for Titan One, Titan Two and XIM APEX at Mod Squad
User avatar
antithesis
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Crash course on using the Input Translator

Postby kenshin80012 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:26 pm

is there any plans to add checkboxes under input translators for negative values? my controllers Dpad is being read as the Analog but I want to swap that and have it read as the Dpad without having to use both script and input translator
User avatar
kenshin80012
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:48 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Tutorials and FAQs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests